1866 Letters

June 8, 1866 letter to Sarah Keith from Sarah Morrison

June 8, 1866

To: Sarah Crawford

From: Sarah M. Morrison

She has written several times but has not heard back. She is trying to decide whether or not to join the free will Baptist church and would like Sarah’s advice. She wishes Sarah would come to visit or let the girls come and asks that they write to Dora.

June 8/66

Dear friend

Once more I sit down to drop a few lines to you. I wrote to you while in the east and you did not answer my letter so I wrote again. I have not heard from there in so long I do not know any of the affairs. Please tell me all that has happened this spring who who your preacher is and whether you hear Elder Beals any more. I am close by the Baptist Church but they are free will. Over twenty have joined their church this spring. There is no other Baptist church here. Would you join there if it was you or would you stay as you are if you were me. I have had two or three invitations. O I do want to see you so bad I do not know what to do. I do wish you would come and see me but I suppose I shall be denied that privilege. Do let the girls come if you will not. I suppose they are large enough to almost marry by this time. Tell them to write to Dora[1] for she wrote to them last fall. She lies a sleep and all the rest while I write for it is past bed time. Tell Jimmy,[2] Sherman[3] is very sick to night and has been all day. The children often talk of him and sissy.[4] Is Ethan[5] as bashful as ever. If so send him here and I will cure him. Give my love to your Mother.[6] Tell her she has nothing to do but come and see me. Please direct the enclosed letter to Mr ___ _____ for me I did not know his given name and drop it in the office. Write soon. If you can read this you will do well for I sit on the floor with my back against the wall and my sleepy eyes trying to look aright.

Sarah M Morrison
Homer, Calhoun Co, Mich.

——-

[1] Her daughter, Isadora Morrison

[2] Sarah’s son, James Clinton Keith

[3] Her son, Sherman Morrison

[4] Sarah’s daughter, Louese Keith

[5] Sarah’s son, Ethan Keith

[6] Nancy (Comfort) Crawford Betts

Leave a Reply

